Post-teenybopper

The music and celebrities that you obsessed over in your childhood aren’t, for the most part, the same ones I swore undying love to.

When I was little I loved M2M, Michael Learns to Rock, Gil and the Moffatts.

And ohhhh boy how I loved the Moffatts. They were a set of triplets and an older brother from somewhere in Canada, big around the time Hanson was in the States.

Their last album came out in the late 90s, and wasn’t as bubblegummy as the first couple. There’s even a couple songs on there that I still like.

Example one (which has been stuck in my head today):

There’s no windows in this place
for me to show my weary face.
Rage I hold within my soul
at times I cannot control.
What’s the point of me being here?
When being me is what I fear.
Every day it’s all the same
trapped again in my own pain.
I cry myself to sleep
so many secrets I must keep.
No one to reach me…nobody cares.
Trapped in the middle of a distant stare.
I’ve prayed that I was free
of this grief that’s filling me.
Everywhere I turn
every bridge must burn.
There’s no windows in this place
for me to show my weary face.

// it is a beautiful acoustic-guitar-only track that I’m about to go scour YouTube for.

~ by manjamanis on November 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
